Andrew Hines

Harley-Davidson® Screamin’ Eagle®/Vance & Hines rider Andrew Hines is a five-time NHRA Pro Stock Motorcycle World Champion. Hines won three consecutive championships from 2004-2006, won again in 2014, and in 2015 became the first and youngest rider to win five Pro Stock Motorcycle titles since Dave Schultz reached that mark in 1994. Andrew Hines is also the youngest racer to reach the milestone of winning five NHRA championships.


Career Highlights

  • See the updated Pro Stock Motorcycle standings. View standings here
  • 2018 wins/runner-up finishes: 0/5
  • Career wins/runner-up finishes: 48/38
  • 2018 points finish: 6th
  • World championships: 5 (2004, 2005, 2006, 2014, 2015)
  • Playoff appearances: 11
  • First start: Denver 2002
  • Career-best elapsed time: 6.728 seconds (Reading 2012)
  • Career-best speed: 199.55 mph (Sonoma 2017)

2018 - Raced to five runner-up finishes during the season; Earned No. 1 qualifying positions at Gainesville and Chicago; Qualified for the Countdown playoffs for the fifth consecutive year.

2017 - Raced to victory at the season-ending Pomona event; Posted three runner-up finishes; Earned No. 1 qualifying positions at Charlotte 2 and St. Louis; Qualified for the Countdown playoffs for the fourth consecutive year.

2016 - Raced to five wins; Posted four runner-up finishes; Earned No. 1 qualifying positions at Denver and Reading; Led the points for five races; Qualified for the Countdown playoffs for the third consecutive year. 

2015 - Secured his fifth world championship during the season-ending event in Pomona; Raced to four wins; Posted one runner-up finish; Earned a No. 1 qualifying position at Brainerd.


2014 - Secured his fourth world championship during the season-ending event in Pomona; Raced to six wins; Posted two runner-up finishes during the year; Won the inaugural.

2013 - Raced to the only victory of the season at Charlotte 2; Posted a semifinal finish at Denver; Qualified a season-best third at Houston; Finished outside top 10 points standings for the only second time in his career.

2012 - Raced to a career-high six victories in 11 final rounds; Finished second in the series points standings.

2011 - Set career-best E.T. and speed; Won Indianapolis and Pomona 2; Finished third in the championship points standings.

2010 - Won five races, tying career-best wins in a season; Raced to seven consecutive final-round appearances with three wins and four runner-up finishes; Made the playoffs for the fourth consecutive season.



2009 - Was the No. 1 qualifier four times during the season; Made the playoffs for the third consecutive season; Won multiple races for the sixth consecutive season.

2008 - Went to the final round at three of first four races with wins at Atlanta and St. Louis; Competed in the 100th career race.

2007 - Earned an appearance in inaugural Countdown playoffs; Won a career-best five races.

2006 - Earned third consecutive world championship title; Won in three of five final-round appearances.

.2005 - Earned second consecutive world championship title; Became the first rider to run under six seconds; Set national records for elapsed time (6.968 seconds) and speed (197.45 mph); Won in two of five final-round appearances; Topped the qualifying field at nine of 15 events.

2004 - Won first Mello Yello Series world championship and first for Harley-Davidson; Recorded category E.T. record; Dominated points standings for the entire season.

2003 - Was the runner-up at Sonoma, the first final-round appearance of his career.

2002 - Made professional debut at Denver; Qualified at all seven events entered.

Statistics and Personal Information

Career Final-Round Record

2018 - Gainesville runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Charlotte 1 runner-up (Jerry Savoie); Richmond runner-up (LE Tonglet) ;Sonoma runner-up (LE Tonglet); Brainerd runner-up (Eddie Krawiec)

2017 - Gainesville runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Charlotte 2 runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); St. Louis runner-up (LE Tonglet); Pomona 2 winner (Eddie Krawiec)

2016 - Charlotte 1 winner (Eddie Krawiec); Norwalk runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Chicago winner (Angelle Sampey); Denver winner (Eddie Krawiec); Sonoma runner-up (LE Tonglet); Indianapolis winner (Hector Arana Jr.); Charlotte 2 runner-up (Chip Ellis); Las Vegas 2 runner-up (Jerry Savoie)

2015 - Charlotte 1 winner (Eddie Krawiec); Brainerd runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Charlotte 2 winner (Matt Smith); Reading winner (Chip Ellis); Las Vegas 2 winner (Jerry Savoie)

2014 - Charlotte 1 winner (Eddie Krawiec); Atlanta runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Englishtown winner (Eddie Krawiec); Norwalk winner (Hector Arana Sr.); Denver winner (Michael Ray); Dallas winner (Steve Johnson); St. Louis runner-up (Jerry Savoie); Las Vegas 2 winner (Matt Smith)

2013 - Charlotte 2 winner (Hector Arana Jr.)

2012 - Gainesville runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Houston winner (Hector Arana Jr.); Chicago winner (LE Tonglet); Norwalk winner (Hector Arana Jr.); Denver runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Sonoma runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Indianapolis winner (Hector Arana Sr.); Charlotte 2 winner (Eddie Krawiec); St. Louis runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Reading runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Pomona 2 winner (Eddie Krawiec)

2011 - Houston winner (Michael Phillips); Las Vegas 2 runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Pomona 2 winner (Eddie Krawiec)

2010 - Houston winner (Hector Arana); Atlanta winner (Hector Arana); Sonoma runner-up (Michael Phillips); Denver winner (Karen Stoffer); Brainerd winner (Jim Underdahl); Indianapolis runner-up (LE Tonglet); Charlotte 2 runner-up (LE Tonglet); Dallas runner-up (LE Tonglet); Reading winner (LE Tonglet)

2009 - Norwalk winner (Eddie Krawiec); Denver runner-up (Eddie Krawiec); Sonoma winner (Eddie Krawiec); Las Vegas 2 winner (Hector Arana)

2008 - Gainesville runner-up (Matt Guidera); Atlanta winner (Chip Ellis); St. Louis winner (Matt Smith); Sonoma runner-up (Matt Guidera); Indianapolis runner-up (Steve Johnson)

2007 - Chicago winner (Matt Smith); Englishtown runner-up (Craig Treble); Norwalk winner (Matt Smith); Brainerd winner (Eddie Krawiec); Memphis winner (Steve Johnson); Dallas runner-up (Peggy Llewellyn); Las Vegas 2 winner (Chip Ellis)

2006 - Houston runner-up (Angelle Sampey); Atlanta runner-up (Antron Brown); Denver winner (Matt Guidera); Memphis winner (Antron Brown); Las Vegas 2 winner (GT Tonglet)

2005 - Columbus runner-up (Ryan Schnitz); Sonoma winner (Karen Stoffer); Brainerd runner-up (GT Tonglet); Memphis winner (GT Tonglet); Pomona 2 runner-up (Ryan Schnitz)

2004 - Gainesville winner (GT Tonglet); Chicago 1 runner-up (Shawn Gann); Columbus winner (Steve Johnson); Englishtown winner (Craig Treble)

2003 - Sonoma runner-up (Geno Scali)

Career No.1 Qualifier Record

2018 - Gainesville, Chicago

2017 - Charlotte 2; St. Louis

2016 - Denver; Reading

2015 -Brainerd

2014 - Las Vegas 1

2012 - Norwalk; Indianapolis; Charlotte 2; Pomona 2

2011 - Indianapolis; Pomona 2

2010 - Brainerd; Indianapolis

2009 - Houston; Atlanta; St. Louis; Norwalk

2008 - Atlanta

2007 - Chicago; Pomona 2

2006 - Sonoma; Pomona 2

2005 - Gainesville; Atlanta; Chicago 1; St. Louis; Denver; Sonoma; Memphis; Indianapolis; Reading

2004 - Gainesville; Houston; Chicago 1; Columbus; Englishtown; Denver; Memphis; Las Vegas 2

Personal Information

Category: Pro Stock Motorcycle

Residence: Brownsburg, Ind.

Hometown: Villa Park, Calif.

Date of birth: May 25, 1983

2019 motorcycle: Screamin' Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Street Rod

Crew chief: Matt Hines

Team owners: Byron Hines, Terry Vance

Wife: Tanya

Sons: Rion, Declan

Daughter: Genevieve

Height/weight: 6'0", 160 lbs.

Hobbies: Hiking, Marksmanship, Jr. Dragster crew chief (Declan)


Share to Twitter  Share to Facebook