O’Hara Wins AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Race at Daytona

MILWAUKEE (March 18, 2013) - 

Tyler O’Hara (Eco Fuel Saver/Scrubblade/Bartels’ H-D) won a wild and unpredictable AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley Davidson series race at Daytona International Speedway Friday, coming out on top of a thrilling multi-rider drafting battle that wasn’t settled until the run to the finish line from the final turn on the last of seven laps around the famed 2.5-mile road course.

“It was crazy,” O'Hara said. “It was almost like riding a [flat tracker] on a mile. It was hairball and I’m just happy everybody rode respectfully. Coming onto the banking I was in like sixth or seventh and I told my dad I thought I could win from around sixth. I was like “slingshot -- engaged! It’s all about putting yourself in the right place at the right time. It feels really good to come out of here with a win.”

O’Hara nipped runner-up Revolution Performance’s Kyle Wyman, winner of the previous two season-opening XR1200 class races at Daytona, by a mere 0.075 second. Rossmeyer’s Harley-Davidson’s Bobby Fong came home in third in a race that saw the top ten finishers separated by a 0.792-second margin. Rossiter’s Harley Davidson's Michael Corbino finished fourth and Canadian Steve Crevier (Motosports Plus) rounded out the top five, followed by defending class champion Michael Barnes (Rossmeyer’s H-D), who was shuffled down the order in the chaotic final drafting battle. Shane Narbonne was seventh, followed by polesitter Travis Wyman, with Gage McAllister and Eric Stump completing the top ten. Benjamin Carlson, originally scored fifth, was later disqualified for failing to comply with post-race technical inspection.

The next round in the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley Davidson series is May 31-June 2 at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wis.

Daytona International Speedway Race Result:

1. Tyler O’Hara (Eco Fuel Saver/Scrubblade/Bartels’ H-D, 7 laps
2. Kyle Wyman (Revolution Performance), +0.075
3. Bobby Fong (Rossmeyer’s H-D), +0.289
4. Michael Corbino (Rossiter’s H-D), +0.307
5. Steve Crevier (Motosports Plus), +0.370
6. Michael Barnes (Rossmeyer’s H-D), +0.477
7. Shane Narbonne (MOB Racing), +0.522
8. Travis Wyman (Harv’s H-D), +0.584
9. Gage McAllister (Folsom H-D), +0.792
10. Eric Stump (Peter Brady), +1.440 seconds
11. Nicholas Hansen (Suburban Motors H-D), +13.314 seconds
12. David Estok (Thrashed Bike Racing), +13.688 seconds
13. Barrett Long (Longevity Racing), +23.099 seconds
14. Brice Cooper (Suburban Motors H-D), +25.195 seconds
15. Cory Texter (MOB Racing, Black Hills H-D), +25.252 seconds
16. Paul James (Hoban Cycle), +25.857 seconds
17. Sam Rozynski (Triple Crown/RMR), +25.857 seconds
18. Shelina Moreda (Spyke’s H-D), +33.620 seconds
19. Joseph Rozynski (Triple Crown/RMR), +33.739 seconds
20. Sandra Stammova (Rossmeyer’s H-D), +33.845 seconds
21. Richard Barnett (, +1:14.466
22. Dave Rhinehart (Rhinehart Development), +1:37.472
23. Darren James (Deeley Racing), 4 laps
24. Steve Rapp (Suburban Motors H-D), 1 lap
25. Ricky Parker (Chilipepper Racing), DNS
26. Josh Chisum (Eco Fuel Saver/Scrubblade), DNS
27. Benjamin Carlson (Suburban Motors H-D), DQ

AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series Points Standings

1. O’Hara, 31
2. K. Wyman, 25
3. Fong, 21
4. Corbino, 18
5. Crevier, 16
6. Barnes, 15
7. Narbonne, 14
8. T. Wyman, 14
9. McAllister, 12
10. Stump, 11

Company Background

Harley-Davidson Motor Company produces heavyweight custom, cruiser and touring motorcycles and offers a complete line of Harley-Davidson motorcycle parts, accessories, riding gear and apparel, and general merchandise. For more information, visit