XR1200® Trophy countdown…

Oxford (28 April 2011) - The second season of the Harley-Davidson® XR1200® Trophy championship is soon to get underway and with new riders and some new rules, year two is set to be one of most exciting segments in the British Superbike Championship calendar.

Following a successful first season of close and exciting racing with the inaugural XR1200® Trophy championship, 2011 is all about building on that success and making the series even bigger and better. This year will see the introduction of options such as the use of wet tyres, slipper clutches, captive wheel adjusters and a re-designed bellypan and adjustable footrests to improve ground clearance on twisty track layouts.

But there’s one other big change, which is probably the most exciting for anyone who has always fancied their chances out on track – independent riders can now sign up to race without the backing of a Harley-Davidson® dealer, blowing the competition wide open! 

Riders and teams can sign up now to take their place on the grid. For just £15,500 riders can purchase a standard XR1200X™ motorcycle and the Harris Performance upgrade kit and be in the running to secure up to £14,000 in prize funds. Whether you win or lose, you’ll be roaring round the track in front of huge British Superbike crowds with an even bigger smile on your face – truly the experience of a lifetime.

Although the 2010 bike spec is still permitted, additional optional upgrades from Harris Performance are also available this year and Dunlop wet tyres are now allowed in addition to the Sportmax D211 GP tyres used in 2010.

Due to popular demand, the calendar for this year has increased from seven races at five events to nine races at seven events and new circuits on the calendar include Donington Park, Thruxton and Snetterton. Old favourites such as Oulton Park, Brands Hatch and Cadwell Park will also be revisited.

The countdown is firmly on to the opening race of the season, at Thruxton on 28 – 30 May. The complete calendar of events is as follows:
Round 1 – Thruxton - 28/29/30 May
Round 2 – Knockhill - 17/18/19 June – double header
Round 3 – Snetterton - 1/2/3 July
Round 4 – Oulton Park - 15/16/17
Round 5 – Brands Hatch GP - 5/6/7 August – double header
Round 6 – Cadwell Park - 27/28/29 August
Round 7 – Donington Park - 9/10/11 September

To register interest in taking part in the series, for details of how to sign up or to request further competitor information, email For more details on the XR1200® Trophy, including race dates and venues, visit

Trophy series has been supported by Volvo Trucks, Schneider FX, and Monster. If you're interested in getting involved in the excitement by sponsoring the series, please contact